Glossary

glossary1

In the following we would like to explain a few important basic terms briefly and concisely so that orientation in our online shop is as easy as possible for you. If you are looking for more detailed explanations of the various techniques, you will find detailed text in our section Techniques.

    • Edition

      In the case of printed graphics, the print run refers to the entirety of the printed images from one printing plate. Towards the end of the 19th century, the numbering of the sheets was established, whereby, for example, the numbering 1/100 means that this is the first impression of a total of 100 impressions. 

    • Watercolor

      Unique, created by the artist with watercolours on paper. The special feature is that watercolours are not opaque and the painting ground shines through. 

    • Aquatint

      Printing technique; sub-form of etching, in which the printing plate is covered with a layer of dust and only the spaces between the dust grains are etched, resulting in a flat black tone.

    • Pencil

      Drawing medium with mostly black, shiny line. Since about 1790 widely spread by mixing graphite and clay, which was cheaper and offered a wider range of variations.

    • Prints

      Reproduction process in which several identical images can be printed from a carrier plate. Quality and design features differ depending on the carrier material and the processing technique. 

    • Printing plate / Plate

      Substrate, e.g. kufper, wood or metal, to which the image design is applied and later reprinted on paper.

    • Spring

      Drawing tool in various widths, to be used with liquid color materials such as ink.

    • Gouache

      Painting medium made of colour pigments, which in contrast to watercolours is mixed with chalk and is therefore covering and strong.

    • Woodcut

      Printing technique in which several copies of the image are printed on paper from a processed wooden plate. Negative printing process, more widespread in Europe since around 1400, in which only the parts that are not cut away and thus stand out are blackened and printed.

    • Coal

      One of the oldest drawing media made of burnt wood with a rather dull and grey line. 

    • Chalk

      Since the 15th century, widely used drawing tool that offers a wide range of possible variations of the stroke.

    • copperplate engraving

      Printing technique in which several copies of the image are printed on paper from a processed metal plate. Here the drawing is scratched directly into the copper plate with a tool and the resulting trenches are filled with printing ink.

    • Lithography

      Printing technique in which several copies of the image are printed on paper from a processed stone plate. The drawing is applied directly to a special stone. The ink adheres by chemical repulsion of grease and water. Lithography allows a nearly loss-free transfer of the drawing into the print and comes closest to the process of drawing. 

    • Oil

      Unique piece, created by the artist with oil paint on various surfaces such as canvas, wood, metal, paper or cardboard. Colour pigments are bound with oil and are not water soluble, thickly applied and covering. Since the middle of the 19th century industrial production and distribution in tubes.

    • Etching

      Printing technique in which several copies of the image are printed on paper from a processed metal plate. The drawing is done by scratching into a specially coated metal plate. The parts of the plate thus exposed by removing the protective layer are later eroded by acid and the depressions are filled with ink and printed. Often the plate is still worked on directly with an etching needle, which is then called "dry point etching".

    • Ink

      Collective term for a liquid drawing and painting medium that is applied with a pen or brush. Ink can occur in different colours depending on its composition. Typical colours are black and brown. 

    • Drawing

      Unique, created by the artist with pencil, ink, charcoal or other drawing material mostly on paper. 

 

Last viewed

Glossar

glossar1

Im Folgenden wollen wir Ihnen ein paar wichtige Grundbegriffe kurz und prägnant erklären, damit Ihnen die Orientierung in unserem Online-Shop so einfach wie möglich fällt. Wenn Sie zu den verschiedenen Techniken eingehendere Erklärungen suchen, so finden Sie ausführliche Text dazu in unserem Bereich Techniken.

    • Auflage

      Die Auflage bezeichnet bei Druckgraphiken die Gesamtheit der gedruckten Bilder von einer Druckplatte. Gegen Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts etablierte sich die Nummerierung der Blätter, wobei z.B. die Nummerierung 1/100 bedeutet, dass es sich um den ersten Abdruck von insgesammt 100 Abdrücken handelt. 

    • Aquarell

      Unikat, vom Künstler mit Wasserfarben auf Papier geschaffen. Die Besonderheit ist, dass Aquarellfarben nicht deckend sind und der Maluntergrund durchscheint. 

    • Aquatinta

      Drucktechnik; Unterform der Radierung, bei der die Druckplatte mit einer Staubschicht überzogen wird und nur die Zwischenräume zwischen den Staubkörnchen geätzt werden, was einen flächigen Schwarzton ergibt.

    • Bleistift

      Zeichenmittel mit meist schwarzem, glänzenden Strich. Seit ca. 1790 weite Verbreitung durch die Mischung von Graphit und Ton, was günstiger war und größere Variationsbreiten bot.

    • Druckgraphik

      Reproduktionsverfahren, bei dem sich von einer Trägerplatte mehrere identische Bilder abdrucken lassen. Qualität und Gestaltungsmerkmale unterscheiden sich je nach Trägermaterial und Technik der Bearbeitung. 

    • Druckplatte / Platte

      Untergrund, z.B. Kufper, Holz oder Metall, auf den der Bildentwurf aufgebracht wird und später auf Papier umgedruckt wird.

    • Feder

      Zeichenwerkzeug in verschiedenen Breiten, zu nutzen mit flüssigen Farbmaterialien wie Tinte.

    • Gouache

      Malmittel aus Farbpigmenten, das im Gegensatz zu Aquarellfarben mit Kreide versetzt wird und dadurch deckend und kräftig ist.

    • Holzschnitt

      Drucktechnik, bei der mehrere Exemplare des Bildes von einer bearbeiteten Holzplatte auf Papier gedruckt werden. In Europa seit ca. 1400 weiter verbreitetes Negativdruckverfahren, bei dem nur die nicht weggeschnittenen und somit hochstehenden Teile eingeschwärzt und gedruckt werden.

    • Kohle

      Eines der ältesten Zeichenmittel aus verbranntem Holz mit einem eher matt und grauen Strich. 

    • Kreide

      Seit dem 15. Jahrhundert weit verbreitetes Zeichenmittel, das eine große Variantsmöglichkeit des Strichs bietet.

    • Kupferstich

      Drucktechnik, bei der mehrere Exemplare des Bildes von einer bearbeiteten Metallplatte auf Papier gedruckt werden. Hierbei wird die Zeichnung direkt mit einem Werkzeug in die Kupferplatte geritzt und die so entstehenden Gräben mit Druckerfarbe gefüllt.

    • Lithographie

      Drucktechnik, bei der mehrere Exemplare des Bildes von einer bearbeiteten Steinplatte auf Papier gedruckt werden. Die Zeichnung wird direkt auf einen speziellen Stein aufgetragen. Die Farbe haftet durch chemische Abstoßung von Fett und Wasser. Die Lithographie erlaubt eine nahezu verlustfreie Umsetzung der Zeichnung in die Druckgraphik und kommt dem Prozess des Zeichnens am nächsten. 

    • Öl

      Unikat, vom Künstler mit Ölfarbe auf verschiedenen Untergründen wie Leinwand, Holz, Metall, Papier oder Pappe geschaffen. Farbpigmente werden mit Öl gebunden und sind nicht wasserlöslich, dick auftragend und deckend. Seit der Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts industrielle Herstellung und Vertrieb in Tuben.

    • Radierung

      Drucktechnik, bei der mehrere Exemplare des Bildes von einer bearbeiteten Metallplatte auf Papier gedruckt werden. Die Zeichnung erfolgt dabei durch Kratzen in eine speziell beschichtete Metallplatte. Die so freigelegten Teile der Platte durch Entfernen der Schutzschicht werden später durch Säure ausgefressen und die Vertiefungen mit Farbe gefüllt und gedruckt. Häufig wird die Platte noch direkt mit einer Radiernadel bearbeitet, was man dann "Kaltnadelradierung" nennt.

    • Tinte

      Sammelbegriff für ein flüssiges Zeichen- und Malmittel, das mit Feder oder Pinsel aufgetragen wird. Tinte kann je nach Zusammensetzung in verschiedenen Farben vorkommen. Typisch sind schwarz und braun. 

    • Zeichnung

      Unikat, vom Künstler mit Bleistift, Tinte, Kohle oder anderem Zeichenmaterial meist auf Papier geschaffen. 

 

Zuletzt angesehen
Chat